Updated
The short version: shutters are sold four ways, and the way you buy matters as much as the brand. This table puts every company we’ve compared side by side, using what each publishes about itself. Click a name for the full comparison.
Four ways to buy shutters
| Kind of seller | How it works | The trade-off |
|---|---|---|
| Online, made to measure, you fit them | You measure, order online and fit the shutters yourself. | Lowest price for a custom shutter; the measuring and fitting are on you. |
| In-home consultation | A designer visits, measures and quotes; installers fit. | Least work for you; the visit, measuring and fitting are in the price. |
| Brands sold through dealers | The maker designs the shutter; local dealers sell, measure and install it. | A known brand and a local contact; prices and service vary by dealer. |
| Stores and big-box retailers | You order in store or online, often with an optional measure and install service. | Convenient, with store financing and returns policies; ranges are set by the store. |
Every company, side by side
Each row comes from that company’s own pages, checked October 30, 2026 unless the row says otherwise, and is cited in its guide. Prices, ranges and terms change, so check with the company before you buy. We aren’t affiliated with any of them.
| Company | How you buy | Shutter materials | Who fits them | Canada | Warranty | Price online |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Shutter Boys | Online, DIY (video or phone design help) | Solid American poplar only | You, or an independent installer on request | Yes (not Quebec yet) | Stated on your quote | Yes: a range per window as you design |
| Bali Blinds | Retailers and Costco (DIY); in-home consultation (Premium) | Composite (DIY); hardwood or composite (Premium) | You (DIY line); Bali’s specialists (Premium) | A Costco Canada site exists; shutters not listed there | Limited lifetime, original purchaser; labor excluded | Through retailers’ configurators, not on Bali’s pages |
| Blinds Chalet | Online, DIY | Real wood (basswood, poplar/hardwood blends), composite, hybrid, vinyl | You | Not stated (ships within the continental US) | 3 years standard; 5 years with a paid upgrade | Yes |
| Blinds To Go | In person: showroom or in-home consultation | 100% PVC resin with metal supports | Not stated on its shutters page | Yes (over 100 showrooms across North America) | Lifetime on moving parts | No; sold in person only |
| Blinds.ca | Online, DIY | Composite (Acadia Living Composite Plus) | Not stated (sold online) | Yes (not Quebec) | From the maker; Acadia Living: lifetime, original purchaser | Yes: from CAD $315.61 for 24 × 36 in (Oct 30, 2026, 20% off) |
| Blinds.com | Online, DIY; in-home consultation and pro install in some areas | Basswood, “Phoenix wood and other hardwoods”, composite, faux wood, poly, polymer | You, or its Professional Measure & Install where available | Not stated | Blinds.com brand: 3 years; Acadia Living Wood: limited lifetime | Yes: starting prices for 24 × 36 in, then your sizes |
| Blindster | Online, DIY | Faux wood | You; it lists local pros by ZIP code | No (continental US) | Limited warranty; terms on its warranty page | Not on the product page we read; cart promotions shown |
| Budget Blinds / 3 Day Blinds | In-home consultation (Budget Blinds: franchise territories) | Wood, composite, vinyl (Budget Blinds); wood, composite, ABS (3 Day Blinds) | Their installers measure and install | Budget Blinds: yes, not all products; 3 Day Blinds: not stated | Budget Blinds: one-time damage repair within 5 years; 3 Day Blinds: lifetime components, 1-year installation | No; quote at the consultation |
| Costco | US: Graber in-home program, or Bali online (members); Canada: Hunter Douglas dealers | Graber wood and composite; Bali polymer | Graber: installed; Bali: you; Canada: authorized independent installer | Hunter Douglas program (blinds, shades, draperies listed) | Graber limited lifetime; Bali Custom limited lifetime | Bali: yes ($141 for 24 × 36 in); Graber: after consultation |
| Gotcha Covered | In-home consultation (franchise) | Wood, vinyl, PolyCORE, wood composite | Its installers | Some locations (e.g. Alberta, BC) | Not stated on its pages | No |
| Graber | Dealers and Graber Experts, consultation to installation | North American hardwood; composite | Through the dealer or Graber Expert | Not stated | Limited lifetime, original purchaser; labor excluded | Not on its shutter pages |
| Home Depot / Lowe’s | Online and in store (DIY composite); in-home consultation (Home Depot installed wood) | Composite, faux wood, polyresin; hardwood only installed (Home Depot) | You (DIY lines), or Home Depot’s local installer | Not on these US pages | Lifetime on Home Depot’s installed hardwood; limited lifetime on Bali composite; 1-year labor (Home Depot) | “Starting at” prices for DIY lines; installed quoted at a consultation |
| Hunter Douglas | Authorized dealers, in-home consultation | Hardwood (Heritance), composite (NewStyle), vinyl (Palm Beach) | The dealer | Yes, through Canadian dealers | Lifetime Limited Warranty (motorized parts 5 years) | No: a dealer quote after measuring |
| Kestrel Shutters & Doors | Made to order, direct from its shop | Solid wood | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Lafayette Interior Fashions | Dealers (designers, decorators, stores) | Faux wood (Parke composite) | The dealer | Not stated (sells across the US) | Published; valid when serviced by a Lafayette dealer | No |
| Levolor | Through retailers: Blinds.com, Lowe’s, The Home Depot | Faux wood / polyresin | You; Blinds.com also offers measure and install | Not stated | 25-year limited lifetime (Lowe’s listing) | Yes, in retailers’ configurators |
| Louver Shop | In-home consultation, franchise dealers | Hardwood (Heritage: poplar or basswood), polymer (LouverWood), wood-polymer composite (Classic) | Its dealer installs; required for the warranty | No (25 US states) | Lifetime against warping, cracking, peeling, discolouring; original purchaser; stain finishes 7 years | No; quote after the consultation |
| Next Day Blinds | Closed, according to 3 Day Blinds | Hardwood, painted or stained (its shutters page) | Its own installers, while it traded | Not stated | Products “for a lifetime”, installs 10 years (its page); not taken over by 3 Day Blinds | No |
| Norman | Authorized retailers; consultation at home or in a showroom | Composite (Woodlore), hardwood (Normandy), hybrid (Brightwood), wet-room lines (AquaShield, Woodlore Plus) | The retailer measures and installs | Not stated on its US site | Lifetime on defects, original purchaser; finish 3 years on premium colours, lifetime on Woodlore | No |
| SelectBlinds | Online, DIY | US: faux wood, plus wood, vinyl or composite in its collection. Canada: hardwood made in Canada | You | Separate Canadian site | 3-year limited included; 5-year options on Classic Faux Wood | Yes, by product; your price after entering sizes |
| Smith & Noble | US operations now part of 3 Day Blinds (in-home consultation) | Through 3 Day Blinds: wood and faux wood shutters | 3 Day Blinds’ installers | Not stated (3 Day Blinds serves US areas) | 3 Day Blinds: lifetime on shutter components and workmanship; finish varies by line | No |
| Sunburst Shutters (Polywood) | In-home consultation; local Sunburst store installs | Polywood (synthetic wood substitute); Ovation (basswood) | Sunburst’s crew | No locations listed | Polywood: life of the product incl. installation, original customer. Ovation: lifetime craftsmanship, 5-yr paint, 2-yr stain | No |
| The Shade Store | Showrooms, online, and in-home or virtual measuring | No shutters listed (shades, blinds and drapery) | Its installers, for a fee ($250 minimum trip fee) | No Canadian showrooms listed | Limited Lifetime Warranty on its measure and install services | Yes, “from” prices for its shades and blinds |
| The Shutter Store | Online, DIY (supply only) | Vinyl, wood core, faux wood, poplar (American Wood), Luxe lines | You | No (continental US only) | 5-year limited, original purchaser | After you enter sizes; examples on its blog |
| Wayfair | Online marketplace; no shutters category | Listings vary, e.g. fixed-size unfinished pine panels | You | Wayfair.ca exists; no shutters category there either | Not stated on the listing | Yes, per listing |
In Toronto and the GTA, local California shutter companies sell and install their own shutters; our GTA companies guide compares them.
How to compare two quotes fairly
- Same window, same build. Ask every seller for the same size, material, louver size and frame. A 36 × 48 in window in our basic poplar build is $320 – $400 ($460 – $570 CAD in Canada), before tax and shipping.
- Material in writing. “Wood” can mean solid hardwood, a wood core under vinyl, or a wood look. Our faux wood guide explains the difference.
- What’s in the price. Measuring, installation, shipping, removal of old coverings and tax.
- The warranty’s words. Whose life a “lifetime” warranty covers, what it excludes, and who pays for labour on a claim.
- Lead time and who to call. When it ships or is fitted, and who handles a problem afterwards.
Shades rather than shutters? Our sister company Shade Boys makes indoor roller, zebra and cellular shades to measure.
Common questions
Who sells plantation shutters?
Four kinds of seller: online made-to-measure sellers you fit yourself, in-home consultation companies, brands sold through local dealers, and stores and big-box retailers. The table on this page lists each company we’ve compared and how it sells.
Which is the cheapest way to buy custom shutters?
Usually ordering made-to-measure shutters online and fitting them yourself, because the measuring visit and installation aren’t in the price. Compare the same window size, material and options from each seller before deciding.
Which shutter companies ship to Canada?
It varies; the Canada column in the table says what each company publishes. Shutter Boys ships across Canada except Quebec, with prices in Canadian dollars.
Are these companies connected to Shutter Boys?
No. Each guide compares a company with us using that company’s own published information, and says so.